.

Patch's Poll: Does Malloy Deserve to be in the Top Five of Least-Liked Governors?

Does Malloy deserve to hold this title? Only 33 percent of voters in a recent PPP poll approve of the job that the governor of Connecticut is doing, according to the New Haven Register.

 

Gov. Dannel Malloy has one of the worst approval ratings among U.S. governors in a poll conducted by Public Policy Polling, according to the New Haven Register.

A statement released by the organization shows that 33 percent of voters approved of him while 51 percent of voters disapproved. Only North Carolina Gov. Bev Perdue, Hawaii Gov. Neil Abercrombie, Illinois Gov. Pat Quinn and Pennsylvania Gov. Tom Corbett of Pennsylvania had worse ratings.

Only 52 percent of Democrats, 25 percent of Independents and 15 percent of Republicans approve of the job Malloy has been doing since elected into office. Malloy advisor Roy Occhiogrosso told the Register that the governor "always tries to do what he thinks is in the best interests of the people of Connecticut" despite his approval rating.

. Forty-four percent of voters approved of his performance, while 45 percent of voters disapproved. This poll gave him the highest approval rating in a Quinnpiac poll since taking office in January 2011.

jcassie August 07, 2012 at 06:05 PM
I dont mind "shared sacrifice" as he puts it... if it was my error to cause a problem. How is it a "shared sacrifice" when we already pay taxes to the state and THEY mishandle it???
Todd Mervosh August 08, 2012 at 03:31 AM
I agree with Ben. Obviously, raising taxes is a hard decision because it makes just about everyone angry. But Malloy had to work at reducing a huge budget deficit that he inherited from the previous governors (Republicans, I might add...) At least he did something about it instead of just kicking that can down the road. And besides, most lower and middle class people haven't seen a substantial increase in their state taxes.
jcassie August 08, 2012 at 09:32 AM
I disagree respectfully Todd, as he did nothing but put a bandaid on the problem. A major bus line, a huge hospital to bear his name, giving tax breaks to entice companies to come back here...how about using the tax breaks he handed out to to returning companies such as ESPN or Cigna and loosen the noose fo current buisness owners here in the state? ***Back to my original comment of "shared sacrifice".....I suggest everyone save every single reciept for items purchased in the state. By the end of the week, take a look at the amount of tax you paid, not including your state income tax, your property tax,let alone casino fee's, buisness taxes, all other taxes paid by the residents or business owners of CT .... When will we all ask...."Where on earth does all the money go.... and why does Malloy feel that "SHARED SACRIFICE" applies to all of us who have been deligent in our payments across the board. come on people... take back your rights. Enough is enough. Fat cats, time to trim down in a visble manner.
Spiff August 08, 2012 at 02:07 PM
"Kicking the can down the road"? Todd, either you don't understand, or you are purposefully lying to your fellow posters! While Dan Malloy inhereted a budget deficit (because CT doesn't use GAAP to balance the budget), he made it WORSE!!! (Read first two links below.) While he signed the largest tax increase in state history, he increased spending as well, which the tax increases didn't offset! And, your last statement is an ABSOLUTE LIE!!! He imposed 77 higher taxes for CT residents! (Read last link below.) Here are just a few changes that impact ALL CLASSES, including lower and middle income people: - Sales and Use Tax – Increased the general sales and use tax rate from 6% to 6.35% - Increases fees on getting a regular drivers license and increases all vehicle registrations - Eliminates Sales and Use Tax Exemptions for many products and services including Clothing and footwear costing less than $50 and Non-prescription drugs and medicine - Expands the Sales and Use Tax on many items to include Motor vehicle towing and road services, Pet grooming and boarding and Manicures and pedicures - AND FINALLY, Property tax credit reduced from $500 to $300 - There are many others as well. Please read last link. http://gov.cbia.com/issues_policies/article/budget-deficit-deepens http://www.nhregister.com/articles/2012/04/30/news/doc4f9f3bd8ec2ea411098986.txt http://www.yankeeinstitute.org/2011/06/69-higher-taxes-for-ct/
Spiff August 08, 2012 at 06:42 PM
OK guys, here's a great story that I read just this afternoon about a city that was past it's prime that reinvented itself and, through reduced taxes, have created new businesses and jobs, and lowered unemployment! (Access link below.) Too bad none of the thick headed Dems in this state would actually do something similar! HEY DAN MALLOY, IF YOU'RE LISTENING, THIS IS HOW YOU CREATE ECONOMIC GROWTH, BY REDUCING TAXES AND CREATING A BUSINESS FRIENDLY ENVIRONMENT WHERE BUSINESSES WANT TO SPEND MONEY!!! READ THE ATTACHED ARTICLE, DAN!!! http://finance.yahoo.com/news/pittsburgh-reinvents-itself-hollywood-film-094000471.html

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »